Oil Checking

on

I have decided to start putting some basic maintenance articles here for you – I know I found it hard to find good simple instruction when I first started doing things with my Beetle (less than a year ago).  I’ll start with the real basics and as I learn new things I’ll get them down in writing.

So firstly, one thing you should do at least once a week is to check the oil level on your aircooled engine – I probably check it more often than that and certainly add to that before any long trips.  Aircooled engines are actually designed to use a bit of oil when they are running and oil is not only for lubrication but is one of the main cooling systems of the aircooled engine – more on that in another article but remember how important the oil system is in your aircooled engine.  So, here’s how to check your oil.

  1. Run the engine til hot, maybe a quick drive round the block, then turn it off.
  2. Wait about 10 minutes after turning the engine off to allow most of the oil to drain down to the crankcase
  3. Pull out the dipstick and wipe with a rag
  4. Re-insert the dipstick and make sure it’s properly in
  5. Remove again and look at the level – there are marks, the level should be in  between the 2.
  6. If the oil level is less than halfway then add a little oil – try not to spill any but if you do wipe it up after.

If you check this as regularly as I mentioned earlier then it should never get lower than the lowest mark – if it does then you probably have an oil leak that needs investigating.  Always make sure you replace the dipstick and the oil filler cap.  I keep the can of oil with me at all times just in case.

Leave a Reply

